Groups guide

Viewing groups

Click on ‘Groups’ in the main menu to view the Groups directory.

You can view:

  1. All groups
  2. My Groups

Join, leave or create buttons

Use the buttons on the Groups directory to:

  1. Join a group
  2. Leave a group
  3. Create a group

The Groups directory.

Creating a group

When logged in, in the main menu click ‘Groups’ and then click the ‘Create a Group’ button seen at the top of the page. This will direct you to a 5 step process for creating your group.

  1. Create a group name, group description, and write (optional) some news about your new group. When you’re all set click “Create Group and Continue.”
  2. First check whether you would like to enable the discussion forums for the group. You will then select whether your group will be public, private, or hidden. A brief description of each of these features is included to help you decide which is appropriate to your needs.
  3. Here you will determine whether or not to have a group blog or connect an existing blog to the group. You will also be asked to set member roles. This determines the status of your group members and their ability to post and comment on the group blog. More about group member roles »
  4. Create a group avatar (profile image). You can leave the default image or upload one of your own.
  5. Select members to join your group.

Finally, celebrate. You’re now the administrator of a new group on the OH Connect!

Group member roles

Administrator – Somebody who has access to all the administration features.
Editor – Somebody who can publish posts, manage posts as well as manage other people’s posts, etc.
Author – Somebody who can publish and manage their own posts.
Contributor – Somebody who can write and manage their posts but not publish posts.
Subscriber – Somebody who can read comments/comment/receive news letters, etc.

Administrators can do the following things that moderators cannot do:

  • Change group settings, e.g. turn group blog on or off, turn group forums on or off, change group status from public to private, etc
  • Post Announcements
  • Change group avatar
  • Manage group members: ie kick/ban members, promote/demote members
  • Delete the group

Group moderators can do the following things that normal members cannot do:

  • Edit the Group Details, including the name of the group and group description
  • Edit, close, and delete forum topics/posts
  • Edit/delete group documents
  • Post announcements

Joining a group

Select ‘Groups’ from the main page.

You will see a drop down menu called ‘Order by’ where you can choose to display all groups by ‘Last active’, ‘Most members’, ‘Most members’ or ‘Alphabetical’.

After you’ve found a group that interests you there will be two options. You can either select the ‘Join Group’ button next the group name if the group is public, or select ‘Request Membership’ if the group is private.

Joining a public group gives you immediate access to the group and group abilities. A private group will require the group’s moderator or admin to approve your request.

Editing your group

As the group creator and administrator you have control over individual member’s roles and abilities.

After clicking ‘Groups’ in the main menu, click ‘My Groups’ and then your group’s name. This brings you to the individual group’s page.

Along the top you will find several links including ‘Admin, ‘Members’ and ‘Send invites’.

Assigning roles and deleting group members

When on the group’s page, selecting ‘Admin’ gives you more options including: ‘Details’, ‘Settings’, ‘Avatar’, ‘Members’, ‘Group Blog’ and ‘Delete’.

If you select ‘Members’ you will be brought to a list of each member of your group followed by various actions.

  • ‘Kick and Ban’ will eject a member from your group and prevent them from rejoining.
  • ‘Promote to Mod’ will grant that member Moderator’s rights.
  • ‘Promote to Admin’ will grant that member administrator’s rights.

You will be prompted to confirm your selection once before the action is complete.

Public, private, and hidden groups

All content in public groups (member listing, forum posts, activity stream posts) is available to be viewed by anyone, even viewers who aren’t logged into the site. Public groups are listed in the public directory of groups, and any member of the community can join the group without seeking approval from the group owners. Public groups can also enable groups blogs.

All content in private groups is hidden from the public and is viewable only by members of that group. Private groups are listed in the public directory of groups, but members of the community must request membership to the group and have that request approved before being able to view group content.

All content in hidden groups is hidden from the public and is viewable only by members of that group. Hidden groups are not listed in the public directory of groups. New members must be invited to join by existing group members.

Messaging all group members

You can send a message in OH Connect to all members of a group.

Option 1:  
Hover over Howdy ‘name’ in the upper right corner of OH Connect, when you are logged in. Then go to Messages > Mass Messaging.

– or –

Option 2:
Go to your profile page > Messages > Mass Messaging.

Under the message compose box, you’ll see a list of groups and friends to choose from.

“Send as 1 message?” will also appear under the compose box

  • If you tick this box: All members receive one group message, such that if someone replies, it goes to everyone.
  • If you do not tick this box: Each recipient gets his own message, such that if someone replies, only you receive it.
For Group Admins only
Group admins may also send an EMAIL (as opposed to a message within OH Connect) to all members from within the group page itself by going to Admin > Email Options.

Automatic group welcome email

Group admins can set up an automatic welcome email that is sent to a user when he or she joins the group. To do so, go to the group page, then to Admin > Email options.

Group activity email subscription

Group members can choose to subscribe to receive email notifications when there is activity on the group page. This is best used for groups that you do not often check.

To edit your personal email subscription to a group
Visit the group page and choose Email options.

If you are a group admin, to edit group members’ email subscription:
Visit the group page and choose Admin > Members and you will see email options under each member’s name.

Group blogs

Groups can have a blog that all group members can contribute to.

If you are a group administrator, go to your group page and click ‘Admin” from the left-hand group menu click ‘Enable group blog’. If you want to use an existing blog, select ‘Use one of my blogs.’

That will add all members of your group to your chosen blog.

See also: About blogs »

Group Documents

You can enable Group Docs to allow either group members or just group admins or managers to create documents that can be shared with the whole group.

To enable Group Docs, a group admin must:

  1. Go to the home page of your group.
  2. Click Admin > Docs
  3. Tick the box for ‘Enable BuddyPress Docs for this group’
  4. Choose the minimum role a user must have to create or edit docs.
  5. Save changes.

When viewing the group home page, a new option should now be visible called ‘Docs’.

Some Group Docs editing notes:

  1. When editing a doc, there are two tabs on the editor: Visual and HTML. If you are not used to editing html, be sure you are editing on the Visual tab.
  2. To view all buttons in the editing toolbar, click the ‘Show/Hide kitchen sink’ button.
  3. To paste in text from Microsoft Word, first click this button , then follow the instructions that appear.
  4. To include an image from the Internet, go to the HTML editing tab, click the ‘img’ button, then paste in the URL of the image. Currently you cannot upload images from your computer into Group Docs.

Leaving a group

To unsubscribe from a group, go to the Groups directory in the main menu and click ”Leave Group” next to the group’s name.

You can also visit the group’s page and click the ‘Leave Group’ button under the group’s avatar (profile image).